In ‘Tent’ ional

_8039466

Ella Wheeler Wilcox wrote,

‘You never can tell what a thought will do

In bringing you hate or love-

For thoughts are things, and their airy wings

Are swifter than carried doves.

They follow the law of the universe-

Each thing creates its kind,

And they speed O’er the track to bring you back

Whatever went out from your mind.’

It was focus, a small thread of thought stitched tight and held in the dark. I knew it needed light so I pulled down the blinds. I went about my day watering the flowers, making egg salad, staring out the kitchen window.

I lose whole days staring out the kitchen window.

Then the blinds snapped open. I was folding a little pile of linens, sticking my nose in to smell the clean soapy sunshine when the tight stitched thought warmed up. I felt prickly and single minded. All day I stared at my folded laundry. A small space was opening up and I knew my thought had a shape.

IMG_0269

Looking out the kitchen window I could see lace and fabric hanging in the trees. In my dreams there was a vivid image. In the morning I felt those airy wings and started to sew. I forgot to eat or walk the dog, I kept sewing. My thought got bigger. I was sewing a small house. It was very intense.

_8039473

Her name is ‘Castle Luna’, you can see her in my Shop.       xo LA

Leave a comment